5780414-thumbThree of the biggest names in metal have transcended continents to record a charity single aimed at raising cash for kids in Africa.

Revolution Harmony, the brainchild of British music lecturer/journalist Ray Holroyd, has announced the July 18th release of its debut All-Star charity single We Are.

The song features vocals from Serj Tankian (System Of A Down) and Ihsahn (Emperor) – plus guitar solos by Devin Townsend. 

Tankian revealed: “It has been an absolute honor being involved with the Revolution Harmony project to bring much needed financial aid to children in South Africa.

“Music has saved my life and has the potential to create positive change in all those young kids struggling to make themselves heard and to survive.

“The song is a musical collage of complex yet moving colors intertwining genres and vibes.”

Holroyd added: “Revolution Harmony is a dream come true. It’s the perfect harmonious marriage of my two callings: making music and making a positive change in the world!

“We Are is the first milestone for Revolution Harmony and to share it with three of my musical heroes – Serj, Ihsahn and Devin – who all believe in my vision, is deeply heartwarming and humbling.

“These musicians are overflowing with talent and compassion and I am eternally grateful and monumentally honoured to have had them contribute to my cause by singing and playing on a piece of my music.

“The goal for these All-Star charity singles is to raise significant funds for various smaller charities, by making and selling creative and meaningful music that features rare collaborations by inspirational artists.”

Composed, arranged, programmed and produced by Holroyd in Vancouver, the complex international studio project was recorded in North America, England, Norway and New Zealand, then mixed by Rohan Onraet (Slipknot, Machine Head) in London, and mastered by Ted Jensen (Green Day, Muse) in New York. The single also features Stefan Loh (We Claimed Sentience Once – signed to Revolution Harmony) on guitars, and additional vocals from the young up-and-coming UK singer Abbie Johnson.

Vancouver-based non-profit record label Revolution Harmony was launched in 2011 by Holroyd.

After founding the non-profit Grade 9 Records in 2008 and growing the label over three successful years, Holroyd decided to expand upon what he had originally established as a means for his students to sell their music and donate the profits to charity and Revolution Harmony was born.

Revolution Harmony acts as a two-way channel, providing an outlet for artists to release their music worldwide and earn money from it, and providing an inlet for the label profits from that music to be redirected to charities that restore harmony between all people, animals and the environment.

The lyrical theme in We Are is based on the concept behind Revolution Harmony, which is essentially the belief that musical harmony has the power to inspire a revolution towards societal harmony.

The single is dedicated to Nelson Mandela and the memory of Lucky Dube, regarded as South Africa’s Bob Marley, and will be released worldwide on Mandela Day (18 July), with all proceeds donated to Buskaid, a charity that provides free music lessons and instruments to children in the townships of South Africa.