As revealed exclusively right here last month, Joe Elliott’s Mott The Hoople tribute band Down N Outz will play the main stage on the second day of this year’s High Voltage festival in London’s Victoria Park.

The band, featuring the Leppard frontman and various members of the Quireboys, release their debut album as a cover mounted CD via Classic Rock magazine next month. And of course the Quireboys will be opening up the High Voltage main stage on Sunday July 25 before hooking up with Joe an hour or so later.

“When Mott The Hoople announced they were reforming for a weeks worth of shows at the Hammersmith Odeon I was asked that I participate in some capacity, ” explained Elliott. “They’ve always been my favourite band and it’s nice to see the rest of the rock world finally catch up and give them their due.

“But what was I to do? It was suggested to me that the Quireboys would be up for offering their services. This was perfect! A fan since their first album, I loved the idea of working with a band as enthusiastic to do this as I was.

“I decided that the thing to do was play some songs that like-minded people thought they would never hear live again, if ever. These were songs by spin offs of Mott the Hoople – songs by Mott, Ian Hunter and British Lions.

“They’re all songs that are close to my heart and songs that I’ve played every week for the best part of 35 years on record, cassette, CD, iPod and now live”

The Down ‘N Outz supported Mott The Hoople at one of their legendary 2009 reformation shows at Hammersmith Odeon. In addition to Elliott (Vocals/Guitar/Keyboards) the band featured the Quireboys’ Paul Guerin (guitar), Guy Griffin (guitar), Keith Weir (keyboards) and Phil Martini (drums) and finally bassist Ronnie Garrity (Raw Glory).

Following a rapturous reception the one night project took on a life and energy of it’s own and an album project was born.

Down ‘N Outz then set about recording an album’s worth of material. The album was produced by Joe Elliott with co-production by Ronan McHugh. The album was recorded at Joe Elliott’s own studio Joe’s Garage and Moor Hall studio in Bedfordshire.

The full tracklisting (with original recording artist) is as follows and, in addition to its June 23 release through Classic Rock, the album will get a full release, with bonus tracks, on July 13:

1. Golden Opportunity (Ian Hunter)

2. Storm (Mott)

3. Overnight Angels (Ian Hunter)

4. Career (No Such Thing As Rock ‘n’ Roll) (Mott)

5. England Rocks (Ian Hunter)

6. Shouting And Pointing (Mott)

7. By Tonight (Mott)

8. Who Do You Love (Ian Hunter)

9. One More Chance To Run (British Lions)

10. Good Times (Mott, originally recorded by The Easybeats)