Gun’s Giuliano ‘Jools’ Gizzi has dubbed Gun’s career-spanning R3LOADED album the ‘soundtrack to good times and bad’.

The Glasgow rockers release a hotly anticipated Best Of featuring their chart-busting singles and a collection of favourite covers on November 29.

And the record hits stores a week before Gun join Dan Reed Network and FM on a nationwide trek playing Taking On The World in its entirety.

Jools said: “R3L0ADED is a collection of our best singles.  We wrote a bunch of songs – the best we could do and had no idea if they’d be successful or if people would connect with them.

“They are the soundtrack to a lot of good times and bad. Now, people come up to us to say how these songs have touched them or made an impact, however small, in their lives. In 1989, we WERE taking on the world. We still are.”

Frontman Dante Gizzi added: “Taking On The World really put us on the map. Thirty years ago, our dream was simply to sign a record deal, release an album and maybe go on tour, no more than that. So it’s great to recognise something which means so much to us, and also to the people who have stayed with us over the years.”

R3L0ADED is presented as a double album with disc one featuring singles from the band’s seven albums including debut chart hit Better Days (1989), Steal Your Fire (1992), Don’t Say It’s Over (1994) and Favourite Pleasures (2017).

Disc two is a collection of cover songs which includes Word Up by Cameo (1986), for which the band won the prestigious MTV Europe Music Award for Best Cover.

Gun have recorded new versions of Every 1’s A Winner by Hot Chocolate (1978), (You Gotta) Fight For Your Right (To Party) by The Beastie Boys (1986), Union City Blue by Blondie (1979), Rock The Casbah by The Clash (1982), Everybody Knows by Dixie Chicks (2006), Diamonds by Rihanna (2012) and Take Me To Church by Hozier (2013).  

Firm proof that Gun can also pull some real musical aces from the pack is evident in the inclusion of the classic Superstition by Stevie Wonder (1972) and Success by Iggy Pop (1977). The former is released as a single on September 20.

Jools added: “These tracks are our favourite songs by acts we’ve grown up with. But we tried not to pick the obvious ones. Our aim was to make heavy rock versions of these great songs. It’s what we do. It’s become one of our strengths both live and in the studio.”

Dante explained: “There are many people out there who still want to hear Gun. We have an incredibly loyal fan base so we owe it to them – as well as ourselves – to keep shooting for goal. 

“Everything is a challenge or a pressure…but it’s a good challenge or a good pressure.  We’ve never had it any other way. You always want to march on. But the feeling is that there is still so much more to be done. We’re far from finished. R3L0ADED is just the beginning…the start of a new chapter.”

Catch Gun at the following shows in December:

The Big 3-0 Tour Dates

9 – Bristol – o2 Academy

10 – Southampton – Engine Rooms

11 – London – o2 Shepherds Bush Empire

13 – Wolverhampton – KK’s Steel Mill

14 – Norwich – LCR UEA

15 – Nottingham – Rock City

17 – Newcastle – o2 Academy

18 – Leeds – o2 Academy

20 – Manchester – Academy 2

21 – Glasgow – Barrowland