It’s a year since Rush unveiled the first music from new album Clockwork Angels when the three-piece celebrated Record Store Day 2011 with the seven-inch release of Caravan/BU2B.

Both songs featured prominently on last year’s massive world tour and the band talked excitedly about the follow-up to 2007’s Snakes And Arrows.

But today Rush finally lifted the lid on their latest opus – revealing the release date, tracklisting and artwork for Clockwork Angels. And record label Roadrunner has struck a deal with Future Publishing to release the UK version as a Classic Rock Magazine Fanpack – just as they have done with the new Slash album. 

Rush’s newie hits the shelves of newsagents everywhere on June 11 with a conventional release to follow on July 9. There is no news yet on whether the Canadian prog rock legends will play live in the UK this year with rumours of a rare festival appearance yet to materialise.

The recording of Clockwork Angels began in April 2010 with Grammy Award winning producer Nick Raskulinecz (Foo Fighters, Deftones) – who also collaborated with the band on their last studio album Snakes & Arrows. Rush co-produced both records.

The first two songs, Caravan and BU2B, were completed during that first session at Nashville’s Blackbird studios and performed nightly during the wildly successful Time Machine Tour, which ran from June 2010 to June 2011.

Work on Clockwork Angels resumed in the autumn of 2011 at Revolution Recording in Toronto after the tour’s finale, with additional strings (arranged by David Campbell) recorded at Hollywood’s Ocean Way Studios earlier this year.

Lyrically Clockwork Angels chronicles a young man’s quest across a lavish and colorful world of steampunk and alchemy as he attempts to follow his dreams.  The story features lost cities, pirates, anarchists, an exotic carnival, and a rigid Watchmaker who imposes precision on every aspect of daily life.

The novelisation of Clockwork Angels is being written by science fiction writer Kevin J. Anderson in collaboration with Rush drummer and lyricist Neil Peart.

Rush will herald the release of Clockwork Angels with a new single Headlong Flight landing at rock radio on April 19.  Details of a full-scale North American tour to support the new album will be announced shortly.



1.    Caravan

2.    BU2B

3.    Clockwork Angels

4.    The Anarchist

5.    Carnies

6.    Halo Effect

7.    Seven Cities Of Gold

8.    The Wreckers

9.    Headlong Flight

10.  BU2B2

11.  Wish Them Well

12.  The Garden