So we’re still waiting for this year’s third headliner (Van Halen, please) but Download have fired a serious salvo in the direction of fierce rivals Sonisphere after revealing a raft of new acts to bolster this year’s roster.

Dance rock fans can point to festival faves Pendulum hitting Donington but classic rockers will be licking their lips in anticipation at the thought of Alice Cooper, Thin Lizzy, Mr Big, The Cult and 2010 returnees FM playing on the same bill. Throw in the metal of Bullet For My Valentine, Korn and Danzig and it’s a fair bet wads of money will be leaving wallets as we speak.

The full list of new additions to Download 2011 is as follows:

Bullet For My Valentine, Korn, Alice Cooper, Alter Bridge, Danzig, The Cult, Gaslight Anthem, Hollywood Undead, Thin Lizzy, Buckcherry, Black Veil Brides, The Damned Things, Escape The Fate, Clutch, Mr Big, GWAR, FM, Masters Of Reality and Rise To Remain.