K!CompCoverIt’s that time of year again when our good mates at the world’s rockingest weekly deliver their perfect soundtrack to the summer.

And Kerrang! 2009 The Album is chock full of the tracks of the year with mega-sellers like Nickelback, Green Day and Slipknot sharing top billing with ambitious newbies Metro Station, Ghost Of A Thousand and In Case Of Fire. Phew!

With 42 tracks featuring the cream of rock and metal we can’t wait to get our hands on another meaty overview of a rejuventated scene. Our only gripe? There’s no classic rock.

But this time next year we’re pretty damn sure Kerrang! will be going back to its roots as more and more bands favouring that timeless sound infiltrate a mag once known as the home of everything from hair metal to thrash and all the hard and heavy stuff in between.

Spanning two explosive discs, CD1 focuses on rock and punk and includes the huge Know Your Enemy by Green Day, Billy Talent’s new single Rusted From The Rain and the raucous Juggernauts by Enter Shikari.

CD2 focuses on the world of metal and features the monster Sulfur by Download headliners Slipknot as well as the epic Heroes Of Our Time by Dragonforce. Put simply, no other album comes close.

Kerrang! Editor Paul Brannigan said: “Kerrang! has changed the lives of three generations of rock fans across the globe but we’re not about to wallow in nostalgia.

“We believe that our world has never been more alive, that right now it’s exploding with bands who make music that sparkles with energy, imagination and colour and music that pushes boundaries, kickstarts hearts and makes life worth living. Kerrang! The Album ‘09 is the new soundtrack to your life.” Brave words Mr Brannigan. But you’re probably right.

The full track listing of this two CD monster, out on August 3, is as follows:


1. Green Day – Know Your Enemy

2. Billy Talent – Rusted From The Rain

3. My Chemical Romance – Desolation Row

4. Paramore – Misery Business

5. You Me At Six – Save It For The Bedroom

6. The All-American Rejects – Gives You Hell

7. New Found Glory – Listen To Your Friends

8. Nickelback – If Today Was Your Last Day

9. Theory Of A Deadman – Hate My Life

10. Spinnerette – Rebellious Palpitations

11.Alexisonfire – Young Cardinals

12. The Blackout – STFUppercut

13. Madina Lake – Let’s Get Outta Here

14. Taking Back Sunday – Sink Into Me

15. The King Blues – Save The World, Get The Girl

16. Swound! – We Are A Danger

17. Chiodos – Lexington (Joey Pea-Pot With A Monkey Face)

18. Cobra Starship – Pete Wentz Is The Only Reason We’re Famous

19. Metro Station – Shake It

20. Enter Shikari – Juggernauts

21. The Prodigy – Omen


 1. Slipknot – Sulfur

2. Dragonforce – Heroes Of Our Time

3. Killswitch Engage – Starting Over

4. Mastodon – Divinations

5. Marilyn Manson – We’re From America

6. Gallows – London Is The Reason

7. Ghost Of A Thousand – Bright Lights

8. In Case Of Fire – Enemies

9. Disturbed – The Night

10. DevilDriver – Pray For Villains

11. Shinedown – Sound Of Madness

12. Papa Roach – Lifeline

13. Fightstar – Mercury Summer

14. Static-X – Stingwray

15. Lamb Of God – Set To Fail

16. Cancer Bats – Engine Skull

17. Blakfish – Economics

18. Outcry Collective – Dead in The Water

10. The Dead Formats – Dirty White Shoes

20. Rolo Tomassi – I Love Turbulence

21. Bring Me The Horizon – Football Season Is Over