Fans bowled over by Foreigner’s show-stopping sets on this summer’s AOR fest alongside Journey and Styx will be licking their lips with delight at the prospect of the band’s latest project.

Acoustique (is that French?) sees the current line-up strip back the band’s familiar back catalogue and present all of the biggest hits – yep, you’ve guessed it – acoustically.

But here at rushonrock we wonder whether Mick, Kelly and the crew might have bitten off more than they can chew… 

Clearly suited to the big-production arena sets which stunned crowds across the UK just a few weeks back, Foreigner is a band which has long since staked its reputation on a slick sound underpinned by technical wizardry. And it remains to be seen how classic tracks like Juke Box Hero, Cold As Ice and Double Vision translate to the acoustic stage.

As soon as we land the promo we’ll deliver our verdict. But for now one thing’s for sure – Hansen certainly possesses the pipes to pull off just abut anything and we’re pretty sure his performance will make or break Acoustique.

Foreigner’s latest greatest hits spin-off will be released on Edel’s international rock label, earMUSIC on September 26th.  A statement released on the band’s behalf read:  “The new album takes a fresh look at some of Foreigner’s hits and offers some unique surprises. The stripped down version of these great songs shows Foreigner in an entirely new light, and the release will be supported by unplugged tour dates and multiple television appearances.

“Foreigner inject new life into all their hits, pay tribute to Elvis Presley with a unique recording of That’s All Right and throw in a couple of previously unreleased tracks.  The Flame Still Burns was co-written by Mick Jones for 1998 cult rock movie, Still Crazy, where it was performed by Jimmy Nail. Mick won the prestigious Ivor Novello Award for that song. The album features a brand new song, Save Me, which was co-written with Mick Jones’ step-daughter and well-known DJ & musician, Samantha Ronson.”

Acoustique will be available in various formats with a bix set including yet another DVD – this time featuring the band’s 2011 Chicago show. An extra disc sees Hansen front a set of re-recorded classics.

The standard CD track list is as follows:

1.  Long, Long Way From Home 2.  Cold As Ice 3.  The Flame Still Burns  4.  Double Vision 5.  Fool For You Anyway 6.  Say You Will 7.  Starrider 8.  Waiting For A Girl Like You 9.  Feels Like The First Time 10. Juke Box Hero 11. That’s All Right 12. Save Me (Electric version) 13. I Want To Know What Love Is (Electric version) 14. When It Comes To Love (Electric version)