Viking metal army Amon Amarth have revealed the stunning artwork and tracklisting for hotly anticipated 2011 release Surtur Rising.

The new record should hit stores ahead of the band’s UK jaunt with Children Of Bodum and Ensiferum this spring.

And by all accounts it more than meets the standard of their legendary canon – opening up with the self explanatory and typically brutal War Of The Gods.

Named in tribute to Surtur, leader of the fire giants of Muspelheim (“flame land”) and the oldest being in the nine worlds of Norse mythology, the record, which was listed among Decibel Magazine’s most anticipated albums of 2011, features 10 tracks of sword-wielding, fist-pumping, hyper climactic battle anthems.

The follow up to 2008’s monolithic Twilight Of The Thunder God was again recorded at Fascination Street Studios in Örebro, Sweden with Jens Bogren and features strikingly brutal cover art by Tom Thiel.

Surtur Rising Track Listing:

01. War of the Gods

02. Töck’s Taunt – Loke’s Treachery Part II

03. Destroyer of the Universe

04. Slaves of Fear

05. Live Without Regrets

06. The Last Stand of Frej

07. For Victory or Death

08. Wrath of the Norsemen

09. A Beast Am I

10. Doom Over Dead Man

Amon Amarth join Children Of Bodom in the UK in April 2011. Catch them here:


2nd    MANCHESTER – Academy

3rd   GLASGOW – O2 ABC

5th    (IRE) DUBLIN – Vicar Street

7th    NOTTINGHAM – Rock City

8th BIRMINGHAM – O2 Academy

9th   LONDON – HMV Forum