It is 25 years since iconic German label SPV first brought us bands like Sodom and Destruction but over the years the innovative firm has brought rock fans of every persuasion the music they love.

From thrash metal to melodic rock, Slime to Whitesnake, Kamelot (pictured) to The Answer, the Hannover-based imprint has supported rock and metal through the good times and bad but these days they’re on a roll.

And to celebrate their anniversary in 2009 – dubbed 25 & Alive – SPV are re-releasing a slew of classic albums on vinyl – starting with four absolute crackers in March!

Accept’s Restless & Wild, Savatage’s Hall Of The Mountain King, Kamelot’s definitive Ghost Opera and Iced Earth’s The Crucible Of Man all get the re-release treatment on re-mastered heavyweight vinyl on March 3. And the big hits just keep on coming as SPV roll out a raft of material designed to celebrate their 25 years at the top in style.

That party officially started today with the release of five download samplers covering the themes Power Metal, Classic Rock Tracks Live, Thrash ´Em All, German Metal and Women In Rock, all of which are available through usual download outlets.

What always promised to be another landmark year for rock and metal just got better and expect rushonrock to be partying hard with SPV throughout the year. The first batch of vinyl re-issues are as follows and stay posted here for more 25 & Alive news and reviews throughout the year:

March 2, 2009: ACCEPT Restless & Wild; SAVATAGE Hall Of The Mountain King; KAMELOT Ghost Opera (Double-LP); ICED EARTH The Crucible Of Man (Double-LP)

March 30, 2009: ACCEPT Breaker; SAVATAGE Gutter Ballet KAMELOT The Black Halo; UNLEASHED Hammer Battalion

April 27, 2009: MOONSPELL Memorial; SAVATAGE Streets; ROSE TATTOO Pain (Double-LP); ANNIHILATOR King Of The Kill

June 2, 2009: MOONSPELL Night Eternal; SAVATAGE Power Of The Night; ROSE TATTOO Blood Brothers; ANNIHILATOR Refresh The Demon