Thunder will release a 28-track album – The Greatest Hits – on September 27 through BMG. Featuring tracks from each of their 12 studio albums, it is the first ever collection to be sanctioned by the band and compiled by Thunder. 

The Greatest Hits will be released in four formats: 2CD, expanded 3CD (featuring a live session recorded and streamed at the Planet Rock studio in January 2019), 3LP and digital. CD1 and CD2 are both closed by Thunder covers of classic songs.

The Greatest Hits is a comprehensive, career-spanning collection, taking in material from every single album since the debut that propelled them onto the world stage – 1990’s Backstreet Symphony.

That first salvo was followed by Laughing On Judgement Day which hit number two in 1992, and Behind Closed Doors which was another top five hit in 1995.  

The Greatest Hits includes material from 2017’s Rip It Up – which hit number three in the UK charts – and 2019’s Please Remain Seated.  The last three Thunder albums – Wonder Days, Rip It Up and Please Remain Seated have all enjoyed UK top 10 status.

Frontman Danny Bowes said: “Having been at it for 30 years, we now feel we have enough of a body of work behind us to do this properly. We explored and re-imagined our back catalogue with the Please Remain Seated album and now, with The Greatest Hits, we’ve gathered all our key tunes together. I

“It’s all killer, no filler and we hope fans like having it all in one place.” Guitarist and songwriter Luke Morley added: “It was great fun picking the tunes for this compilation and brilliant to put all of them into one big collection.”

Preceding the album release, Thunder also announced a one-off intimate show at The Garage in London on September 26. This will be a full-pelt rock show with funds raised from ticket sales going to NSPCC/Childline.

With a new studio album already underway and slated for release in late 2020, the Thunder story is far from over.

Thunder – part of the rock and roll furniture for 30 years


CD1 [of both 2 and 3CD formats]

Dirty Love / Love Walked In / She’s So Fine / A Better Man / Backstreet Symphony / Low Life In High Places / River Of Pain / Like A Satellite / Stand Up / Living For Today / Love Worth Dying For / Just Another Suicide / All I Ever Wanted / Gimme Shelter [recorded for charity in 1993]

CD2  [of both 2 and 3CD formats]

I Love You More Than Rock N Roll / I’m Dreaming Again / The Devil Made Me Do It / On The Radio / The Rain / Wonder Days / Rip It Up / In Another Life / Right From The Start / The Thing I Want / Future Train [2019 Version] / Low Life In High Places [2019 Version] / Your Time Is Gonna Come [Led Zeppelin cover, recorded in summer 2018 during the Please Remain Seated album session. Previously unreleased.]


Bigger Than Both Of Us / Serpentine / She’s So Fine / River Of Pain / Stand Up