They’ve been billed as the next big thing for some time now but this really could be the year for Scots rock trio The Xcerts.

Just named as the fourth band to feature on this year’s Rock Sound Exposure Tour and with a new EP on the way we’re sure you’ll be hearing a lot more from these boys in 2011.

Stairs To Noise: The Scatterbrain EP is released on March 7 – just two days after The Xcerts roll off their 14-date jaunt with Dinosaur Pile Up and Japanese Voyeurs.

And frontman Murray Macleod said: “We had some tracks left over from the album sessions we did in New York that we really liked but didn’t work with the flow of the record so rather than just release another single, we decided to put these songs onto an EP along with a specially recorded cover Elliot Smith’s Say Yes to sell at a reduced price as a reward for our fans loyalty.” Try saying that in one breath again Murray…

The Stairs To Noise: The Scatterbrain EP will be released digitally on the March 7 through Xtra Mile Recordings (Far, Frank Turner, Straight Lines…) and the track listing is as follows:

1. ‘Scatterbrain’

2. ‘Tear Me Down’

3. ‘Say Yes’ (Elliott Smith cover)

4. ‘Let’s Run’

5. ‘Mannequin Champion’

The Xcerts will be appearing on the following Rock Sound dates starting next month:


17 – BEDFORD Esquires

18 – BOURNEMOUTH Champions

19 – BRIGHTON Audio

20 – TUNBRIDGE Forum

22 – CAMBRIDGE Haymakers

23 – BIRMINGHAM O2 Academy 3

24 – LONDON Relentless Garage


27 – GLASGOW King Tuts

28 – NEWCASTLE O2 Academy 2


02 – LEEDS Cockpit 2

03 – MANCHESTER Roadhouse

04 – YORK Duchess